June 3, 2015

Glamour where it belongs: the CFDA Awards and its laureates

‘’Fashion creates dreams and makes them happen. We are here tonight to celebrate fashion designers and their impact.’’ said Council of Fashion Designers of America president Diane von Furstenberg.

And if she continued by likening the CFDA Awards to the Oscars (from the point of view of their nominees system), she could have also done it, just as rightfully, from a few other perspectives as well. The designers and models – Donna Karan, Alexander Wang, Zac Posen, Karlie Kloss, Joan Smalls, Gigi Hadid or Hanne Gaby Odiele – at the fashion-dedicated evening have been joined by numerous showbiz fixtures – Katie Holmes, Amanda Seyfried, Diane Kruger, Julianna Margulies, Kelly Osbourne, Kim Kardashian and Kanye West, Pharrell Williams.

The laureates have likewise stemmed from the ranks of great national and international reputation Houses. Tom Ford received the award for menswear design, Betsey Johnson was honoured for her lifetime’s contribution to fashion and Italian House Valentino designers Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli were granted the CFDA’s international award.

Chelsea Clinton also made an appearance on the Awards’ stage, for a dedication to the great American designer Oscar de la Renta. Former CFDA president between 1973 and 1976 and, later, 1987 and 1989, he has been of paramount importance to the organisation, as for the fashion industry at large. De la Renta, who passed away in October 2014, was described by Clinton as ’’my friend, and as the man I would have chosen for my grandfather had God granted me such a gift’’.

CFDA Awards 2015

Here is the list of the main CFDA 2015 awards and a few of the glittering evening’s most stellar moments.

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen (The Row)

Menswear Designer of the Year: Tom Ford

Accessory Designer of the Year: Tabitha Simmons


Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Rosie Assoulin


Swarovski Award for Menswear: Shayne Oliver for Hood by Air

Shayne Oliver Hood by Air

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design: Rachel Mansur & Floriana Gavriel (Mansur Gavriel)

Rachel Mansur & Floriana Gavriel

The International Award: Maria Grazia Chiuri & Pierpaolo Piccioli (Valentino)

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Betsey Johnson


If you liked the article, also follow the Fashion avec Passion exuberant world on Twitter and Instagram.


Photos: CFDA, elle.com